Ethics Committee Clinical Studies (CS) & Bio Medical Research (BMR)

Apollo Hospitals is committed to bring health care of international standards within the reach of every individual. It undertakes bio-medical research and scientific experimentation on human subjects in the premises of the hospital to discover better medical and therapeutic modalities for the benefit of mankind. In order to see that due care and caution is taken at all stages of the research and to ensure that the research subject(s) and those affected by it are put to minimum risk from and by the research, the institution has constituted an Ethics Committee. It is an independent body constituted and governed by the policies and procedures as per the regulatory requirements and SOPs of the Institution. The committee is reconstituted from time to time as per the standard operating procedures.

The Institutional Ethics Committees of Apollo Hospitals are named as “Institutional Ethics Committee - Clinical Studies” (“IEC-CS”) and Institutional Ethics committee – Bio Medical Research (“IEC-BMR”). The research activities of Institution shall be overseen by the IEC-CS and IEC-BMR. It is designed in accordance with Declaration of Helsinki and also the applicable guidelines formulated by Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), New Delhi and Central Drugs Standards Control Organization (CDSCO). This committees shall evaluate, scrutinize and monitor all clinical research. The role of the ethics committees are“to protect and maintain the dignity, rights, safety and well-being of all research participants”.

It will provide independent, competent and timely review of the proposed research studies and approve before the initiation of the research projects. It ensures periodic review, evaluation and scrutinize and decide upon any ethical issue(s) relating to the research study

The management of Apollo Hospitals supports the formation and activities of IEC-CS and IEC-BMR in each of its centres doing human research namely Ahmadabad, Bangalore, Bhubaneshwar, Bilaspur, Chennai, Hyderabad, Madurai, Mysore, Navi Mumbai and New Delhi. Five of the Ethics Committee – Clinical Studies (“IEC-CS”) at Ahmedabad, Chennai, Hyderabad, Madurai and New Delh are AAHRPP accredited.